Home

STUCK IN  LA

Down Town Los Angeles - wooppeee....

Down Town Los Angeles – wooppeee….

I’m gonna travel in my own back yard …. UGH ….. I think they call that staycation – what a pathetic name about being hunkered down for 10 weeks with 2 self absorbed teenagers.

Laguna Beach on a Saturday, Orange County

Laguna Beach on a Saturday, Orange County

Australia was my first weeks where I viewed a ridiculously over done exhibit at the Sydney, MCA. What happens when  you don’t want to understand or care about what you see?
Why must I read the little notes on the wall to understand what the art is about?
Blah Blah …  and when does importing a huge dining room table and 4 assistants from overseas make the exhibition worth seeing?

Dinner table with no reference to Judy Chicago_ the only smart thing I could reference

Dinner table with no reference to Judy Chicago_ the only smart thing I knew!

Or is this art really a good investment. Wangechi Mutu…. ahhhhh …..  a quick Google search and I found out why – she was supported by Saatchi Gallery – think money!!
1st summer commitment – try and get seen by the International Art Festival curators.

Gotta love the female body

Gotta love the female body

Urs Fisher – Moca, Los Angeles.

Woman on woman collage

Woman on woman _ Wangechi Mutu

Note the pictures above – I always appreciate good Art that really helps us understand the modern woman!
2nd commitment  this summer – exercise like mad, eat well, kegel exercises  and photograph my vagina …..

Gotta love the exclusive art world  - art for all?

Gotta love the exclusive art world – art for all?

Then there is the average art connoisseur ….  hmmm a bit white … don’t cha think?

Metro Blue Line LA

Metro Blue Line Los Angeles

Looking for life in Los Angeles  I caught the Metro Blue line to the  Moca Exhibit, cheap and efficient!! Great for a Voyeuristic traveler like me, what I don’t get is why was the only white on the train.  DAHHHHH …

Eating wheat thins on the train.

Eating wheat thins on the train.

Sooo… stuff the Art world I am off camping …… 1 night, 1 disgusting toilet, (multiple buzzing flies caught on the tape attached to the wooden window and so whizzing out of the toilet when I opened the lid) and 1 damaged car $1600. (Gotta figure out how to pay for it on an artists wage?)

My summer of art is on the way to big things. After a dreadful visit from a local curator, I decided to redo my Chinese animations and pay $20 for a juried competition in Irvine, California

Mao Lady 1

Mao Lady 1

MaoLady2

Who would have guessed I had a solo installation, ‘Thraxpat’  at the High Museum of Art, in Atlanta Georgia.

AHHH…… the art world is so fickle …….

HAPPY SUMMER!!!!!

5 thoughts on “YOU CALL THIS SUMMER?

  1. Hey my little barbie friend!

    Your blog entertained me for a bit of time while waiting for Hanna at vball :0) Let me know if you ever want company while going to visit an art exhibit. I’m game and enjoy that sort of outting. Warmly. ..Jackie Warmly…Jackie

  2. Thanks Susan for reminding me of Stitch & Bitch. What a group of laughing artists we were helping produce the pieces for your brilliant installation, Angela. I’m not kidding!

Leave a Reply

