Home
batik frog painting - or is it a sarong, or a table cloth or what?

batik frog painting – or is it a sarong, or a table cloth or what?

Clogged up on codeine, after a night on the bathroom floor sick,  me and the boys head off Costa Rica. As soon as we get to LAX, it starts –  the boys fighting – just a little though – why the long lines? Can we get a magazine? I want Reeces? What food are we going to eat? I’m bored …..  can I can I can I …… each plane served soggy, hot, cheese and ham rolls, yummy, but …  not so good on codeine –

The boys

The boys

Imagine 2 teenage boys on a plane  fighting, one flicking the others face, fighting so much they knocked over the food on the peoples table behind – literally they were in each others faces. We arrived in Costa Rica and  they started climbing on things, jumping to touch signs, saying racist and sexist jokes, loud and stupid, waiting for our bags. Then going through customs the boys had a total free for all fight,  just as I was handing over our passports – image the faces of the customs agents and the police as I am yelling “NONONONOOOOOOOO” and physically breaking them apart.  ANIMALS!!!

Beach front cabana view

Beach front cabana view

Costa Rica is lush,  green, humid and very Touristee  – by the way I am an Australian  not American. Huge steel bars encase every window and door, behind massive, heavy gates and barb wire. Think poverty and crime vs rich tourists. It was Christmas time and this is where I saw the best art! The best! You might think galleries, souvenir shops, BUT no, I found some decidedly artistic  things on most door steps, that put high end gallery exhibitions to shame!!!    ANIMALS and all!!

Christmas decorations, very authentic

Christmas decorations, very authentic

Personally I call this good contextual art

Personally I call this good contextual art

Then there was the exotic wildlife – monkeys on fences, blue butterflies the size of a mans fist, iguanas sunning themselves on the streets, and then there were the anorexic toucans – I always thought they were the same size and shape as the ones on the fruit loops packet – NOT ….. ANIMALS?

Froot loops vs the real anorexic toucan

Froot loops vs the real anorexic toucan

So this is when I started documenting the fantastic art that is always apparent in hotels etc. Do you get the connection cereal packet – tourist art … right?

wooden plaque with raised shell areas

wooden plaque with raised shell areas

How many of you have art in your house?

swan towels

swan towels

How many of you pick up tourist treasures?

fitted crochet toilet covers

fitted crochet toilet covers

Would I find one of these your house ?

is that an octopus?

is that an octopus?

Send me your best art in hotel pictures please!!

now this I think is art!

now this I think is art!

Finally on our arrival back to LAX, after a forced layover for a night in Mexico city. Raphael leaves his passport on the plane and we are left sitting in the immigration area by ourselves for about an hour. A customs guy with a small beagle comes over and asks for the apple. What apple? The apple in your bag. I don’t have an apple! Look in your bag madam and get the apple out!!! Indigently I look and find an apple – do you believe that? Who would have thought the government had an apple sniffin dog  – The customs agent said were training him to sniff out apples today, OMG?  ANIMALS?

apple sniffin beagle

apple sniffin beagle

P.S. oops, by the way, I unpacked my bag that night and yup, I had 2 opened chilli bottles, packets of Costa Rican coffee and a half eaten packet of Maria cookies.

What is this? Holiday Inn Mexico City

What is this? Holiday Inn Mexico City

beach scene - Diego thought it was great - what ever!

beach scene – Diego thought it was great – what ever!

Leave a Reply

