Home

Holidays schomolidays – I feel like a schmuck! Barr humbug!!

deflatedScooby

So to make for the holiday cheer, I drove around my neighborhood to spot the best decorations!

raingDeerLongBeach

Only in Southern California – fake snow on the manicured front lawn of a ranch house

THAT’S IT FOR HOLIDAY CHEER!!!  I am on a bit of an art binge – an exhibition a week keeps me thinking …. NOT !!!!! just updating my knowledge and looking at the competition!

There is nothing like rushing through your day after some relaxing yoga, checking on a son playing tennis and told to leave, (embarrassed by me in my yoga pants and bike helmet, cheering him on from the sideline – I don’t understand???) Then it is picking up dog pooh ( pounds of it – 2 big Labs) and rushing off to Torrance Museum for an artist talk  – Yup I was excited – something that I am interested in – Travel,  digital media and culture.  WELL …..

ibook

FORGET IT –   Sara Schnadt Travelogue, 2011

In a small ante room I plonked my arse down in a hard seat and watched photographs and text,  flip sequentially on the wall …… yawn uhmmm …. wriggling in my seat, I decided to ask a few questions  – I thought  – then  I asked a few intelligent ones, LIKE?   –
ME – “did you take the pictures?” –
SARA – “NO”  – they were appropriated from other sources, old books and the internet”.
Uhmmm
ME: “where do the quotes come from …”
SARA:  “OH several different places” ….
ME: “So why all the appropriated photographs?  What is the relationship between the photos and the quotes?”
– I liked that one!!!
SARA: “Oh they were set up to make you think”
WHAT??? Then my brain starts to click over – I think to myself this looks familiar………
So my last question:  “Have you seen the books we all  can make of our travels with Apple or lulu – there is even an APP       MOSIAC?
SARA:  – “NO”

TurkeyBook

ME: what about home made coffee table books? Your Powerpoint looks like a digital version of the ibook”
Sara:  “NO, I have never seen them – what are they?”  –
Gee I think  –  my friends make holiday travel books with words  – they are  delightful.
ME: ” What is the difference between your slide show installation and my friends travel book? ”
remember  I think there is a saying – “everything is art”
Sara:  “Of course the artists INTENT”  – silly me that makes all the difference  ????
WHAT THE F**K??    I’M AN IDIOT – is a slide-show installation combining texts and images of urban and rural landscapes from a wide range of sources and time-periods to create a “visual essay on changing and enduring perceptions of site (man-made and natural), the ethos of exploring wilderness, and what our relationships to site say about us.” – I don’t believe it!!!

commerceCouncilman

Commerce councilman’s CHRIST-mas decorations – note the free bit of advertising in the bottom left hand corner – who does that? Bought to you by …….

BY THE WAY I CAN SELL YOU MY TRAVEL BOOK ON TURKEY JUST SEND ME AN EMAIL – VERY ARTISTIC!!! – it is the intent that matters ……..

Then I went into the gallery next door and saw this pathetically repetitive exhibit – one head and 365 of them
Lindsey Schulz
Keep Out of Reach, 2012   CHECK OUT THIS STATEMENT – “Suboxone wrappers and Polaroids with Ink I adapt a clinical approach to my practice manifesting through rigorous controlled methods; beginning with psychological interests, the result emphasizes structure, texture, material and a sense of emotional entanglement. I am drawn to labor-intensive work that reveals an intimacy of human touch often with unconventional materials”.

What the heck does that mean? – all she did was follow her junkie cousin possibly to save him – WHAT – lets get honest here??
The same snap shot over a year – how many times have I seen that … ooocch about 15 in the last couple of years …  booooooring .
How do they get in an exhibitition while my fantastic china series is still waiting for a space ?????
AND HAS ANYONE WHO KNOWS A JUNKIE EVER considered the decline of a human being as structure, texture and psychologically interesting – I would say very depressing, sad and fragmented!!!

my studio

my studio

So it was back to my studio with my dogs who are covered with biting flies.  – I had taken time out of my busy schedule, to buy some spray to get rid of the flies – not looking at the spray bottle I start spraying  – ahhhhhhh that’s it I got rid of them …. NOT!!!!  So I spray more again … the flies are still buzzing ??????  so I look at the label – oops it is for the outside deck – choline mold  removal.

So guess what I was doing at 4am the next morning – cleaning up vomit from both my dogs – IT WAS THE INTENT THAT COUNTS.

ocgallery2OCGallery

Just to top off my art experiences – I went to the OC Museum – check out the great attendance at the show – I love how important art and culture is in every bodies life!

Police patrol the streets outside Sandy Hook Elementary School after a shooting in Newtown, Connecticut,

Armed guards at elementary schools – and they should be volunteers – think the minute men vigilantes with guns – GOD HELP US ALL – and I am not religious!

 

Guess what happened next – I went shopping for holiday presents at the exclusive Fashion island – Orange County. An hour after shopping I was enthusiastically informed by my son – there had been a shooting at the MALL a minimum of 40 shots fired ……  SO why don’t I agree with  the NRA – lets just put armed guards at every school  – that will stop the shootings.

mytree

Well here is my effort at holiday cheer!! Bloody beautiful baby!!
Cut out of left over drawing paper 4′ x 3′ bet you wish you had one…. right!!!

6 thoughts on “Holiday schmoliday – is art smart or am I just a dumb F***ng aussie

  1. Artists’ statements are all bullshit. I’ve ignored them since the 90’s. Crap, crap, crap. Love your line of questions to the “artist”, aka clueless twat. Love ya babe! Lulu

  2. hi Angela
    i enjoy your blogs, this is my favorite so far.
    i applaud your restraint at the lecture at the Torrance-
    leslie

Leave a Reply

